152mc Working with Light: My Camera Obscura – Task 2 Development

I was fascinated with the camera obscure concept (see post here) and I wanted to try this out for my self.

In my small but functional student accommodation I have a single window which provides natural light to the room. Theoretically, if I am able to black out all the light coming in and create a small hole I should be able to create a projection of the outside onto something inside.

I needed Tape, card and something to black the window out with.
I needed Tape, card and something to black the window out with.

In order to achieve this I needed something to block the window light so I choose some thick black bin liners. I began by creating my aperture. I made this using a piece of card and cut a small hole in the middle as this was going to allow the light to get in. I then set about covering the window.

I used a piece of card with a small hole for an aperture
I used a piece of card with a small hole for an aperture
I did my best to block out the light.
I did my best to block out the light.

With all the black bags used up I was disappointed to see that a significant amount of light was still passing through. This leakage would affect the overall quality of my projected image. undeterred though I turned off all the artificial lighting and placed a white piece of card near my aperture.

The world outside steamed through onto a piece of card.
The world outside streamed through onto a piece of card.

Even with the unwanted extra light an image of the world outside my window was clearly visible on the card. The image is upside down as expected and you can clearly see the cloudy sky and the silhouetted buildings.

For my first attempt at something like this I was not too disappointed. I can see that to improve this I really needed to find a better way of blacking out the light. Thick black card and better tape would help of even wood that has been cut to size. I also think that a larger hole would allow me to project the image further, even onto a wall.

I would be really interested in trying this again on a larger scale. There are offices in the university building whose windows face out towards the cathedral. I think these rooms would make an ideal location for a Camera Obscura with the projection being made onto the back wall.

 

Leave a Reply

