152mc Working with Light: Rejects and Failures – Task 2 Development

This was by far the most challenging of all four tasks. I am not a fan of working with alternative processes but needed to embrace them all in order to find something I could use.

I previous blog entries I have talked about the process I went through and how I experimented with Camera Obscura, Analogue Pinhole and Cyanotype printing before rejecting all these and opting for digital pinhole. In many ways this outcome did not surprise me, I much prefer working with a digital medium so finding a way to amalgamate the old with the new was a perfect solution.

As for a way of presenting the theme, ‘Human Presence without a human present’ I had bounced around a few ideas. Initially my thoughts took me back our summer project where we needed to represent ourselves. Although I did self portraits then I also just pictures of personal items that belonged to me. I looked back at works by Elinor Carucci and Nan Goldin but I wanted to do something less intimate. No matter where I looked I kept coming back to John Goassage’s ‘The Pond’ and with his portrayal of human presence in mind I ventured out into the countryside.

My first plan was to shoot buildings in the countryside and how they stand in contrast to their surroundings

My first plan of buildings was rejected.
My first plan of buildings was rejected.

When I reviewed the image I felt it did not look how I envisioned it. The building is no isolated enough and does not stand out against the countryside background.

For my second attempt I focused on man made signs that exist within the countryside.

My second attempt at signs was better but not quite right.
My second attempt at signs was better but not quite right.
My second attempt at signs was better but not quite right.
My second attempt at signs was better but not quite right.
My second attempt at signs was better but not quite right.
My second attempt at signs was better but not quite right.

I thought these were much better, it was clearer what I was trying to achieve and the contrast between human made and nature was a lot more obvious. I didn’t want to stop here though and still felt I could get something better.

My third attempt were roads, tracks and footpaths.

Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.
Roads, Tracks and Footpaths were more like John Goassages work.

Moving back towards John Goassages work I took images for the footpaths and roads used by the local farming and rural communities. Once again I liked the outcomes but my main reservation was that they were perhaps a little too dramatic and the type of human presence I was after needed to be more subtle.

 

Leave a Reply

