152mc Working with Light: Rejects and Failures Images – Task 3 Development

For my final images I decided I would choose to photograph my dad. He would be the first to admit that he is getting older now as he is over 70 and I chose to shoot him in his garage. I will explain more of the reasons why on the next post but here I just wanted to run through the images I ultimately rejected.

Rejected Image
Rejected Image

I took many images over the course of the shoot and they were all very similar to this. It was not that I was unhappy with these but felt the one I chose had that extra little spark of engagement with the camera. When I wrote about the Taylor Wessing Portrait prize I remarked upon the fact that there was something significant about each of the images and that was that point where what the person was feeling really came through. Of all the images I took in this style only one stood out as the one to use. This meant the rest got dropped.

Rejected Image
Rejected Image
Rejected Image
Rejected Image

The second style also had many images like the ones above, shot from different angles and I tried with the subject engaged with the work or with the camera but it was the images where neither was applicable that were the strongest. Due to this these all were rejected.

Rejected Image
Rejected Image
Rejected Image
Rejected Image

The tools I chose to shoot were extremely important and I suppose that it did not matter how I placed them but when it came to deciding which would make it I had to reject these two above. The vice is not as old as the other items and has not formed part of my dads tools for as long as the others. This was the main reason I decided to cut it. I also felt that the others photographed better and the vice was just a little to dark and bland. The Set Square fitted in well with what I wanted but no matter how I placed it did not seem to sit naturally in the image. The placement I have here is interesting but that’s not how you would find or see this tool normally. Because of this I chose to drop it the final images.

Leave a Reply

