152mc Working with Light: Review of Easter Task, Exhibitions, Lighting – Task 4 Part 1

When we first got the Easter task I admit I was somewhat frustrated. I had already done a lot of this work on other posts on my blog and this was asking me to repeat it. The idea of a degree course is that you take responsibility for your own education and researching and understanding things like this should be something we need to get used to doing for ourselves. This homework felt more like college and being directed towards study. Now that frustration is probably unjustified and born out of the fact that I was comfortable with the subject matter and already new where to research but that is not always going to be the case. I am sure in future subjects, the majority of which I am going to be needing that direction and I am sure I will be glad of it then.

Because I had already done the Easter task I other ways I decided to change it slightly and rather than look for lighting styles to look for photographers and artists who used particular lighting methods. Of the 10 people I chose I was really taken with the work of Joey Lawrence and Joel Grimes. Both of them produce visually stunning images but work with and use light in different ways. These two artists work have inspired me to want to go and experiment with it my self and over the summer I have laid the groundwork for a personal project to shoot a free runner in action. The images I plan will be more artistic that social documentary and they will be used for the runner’s personal portfolio for self promotion and I hope to get them featured in magazines specific to his trade.

I find exhibitions difficult normally and the trip to the photographer’s gallery was no different. This was my first time I had been and found the venue enjoyable and a great place to home photographic art but it’s the images that I struggle to connect with. Of all the exhibitions we saw only one really worked and that was by Richard Moss. Here he displayed his images using massive prints of glorious colour. Because of this they had an initial wow factor and then I was able to spend time with each image looking into it, wondering about the location, wondering what was over that mountain or who lived in that home. I was drawn into the images as I could spend time studying them and the longer a looked the more it provoked my imagination. With the exception of Alberto Garcia-Alix who also used a decent size image they were all too small. I spent more time with Mosse and Garcia-Alix work than all others combined. For me that is a no brainer and when it comes to an exhibition, the bigger the better. It’s no wonder that Richard Mosse won the prize as the best.

Leave a Reply

